Prototypes - Synthetique (2008)

Genre : Indie,Electroclash,Pop

1. Synthetique
2. Un Coup De Langue
3. Elle
4. Something
5. Go To Hell Mademoiselle
6. Est Ce Que Tu M'aimes?
7. Minimal Animal
8. Clap Your Hands
9. L'amour L'amour L'amour
10. I've Got No Shame
11. Machine Arriere

Prototypes are a Parisian band formed in 2003. Their press release tells me that they make "a joyful and hybrid music, sexily sung in French (mostly), mixing altogether the many influences of the band: from electro-pop, 60s rhythms, folky guitars and sometimes a punk crunch to add to the equation!"

Sounds right up my street!

And for the most part it is. It's an eclectic mix but one that work. I suppose that it's reminiscent of another of my great discoveries, Cansei de ser Sexy. (I say that tongue in cheek boys and girls). The tunes are so instantly catchy that it matters not that I haven't a clue what the singer Bubble Starr is going on about.

Even the track Something manages to stay banging for 7 minutes without getting in the slightest bit boring. I have to admit that I prefer them when they are sticking more to the "electro-pop" vibe and some of the more experimental tracks, whilst interesting, lack the "hit" factor.