Magpahi - Magpahi EP (2008)

Genre : Indie,Folk,Experimental

01 - Through The Pine Forest
02 - Spinning Wheel
03 - Clemmin
04 - To Sing With Joy From Out A Sorrowing Heart
05 - Horses In The Night
06 - Friendship

I was already bloody curious for more since I heard Magpahi’s lonely track on the “Bearded Ladies” compilation full of old and new wyrd folk lady birds. Magpahi is the magpie of the ladybirds, is Alison Cooper on vocals, recorders, guitar and harmonium, mostly with participations from Sam McLoughlin from psychfolk band Sam And The Plants (a group which I think also deserves a full release ; I could not even find their 2 EPs yet ; -I only reviewed their demo with these recordings and more on next page-). Alison’s voice, and somewhat also some of her songs, with no doubt is to some degree somewhat Vasthi Bunyan-alike (especially on the lullaby with glockenspiel and guitar, “Horses in the night”). She has this sweet attractive gentleness of a voice, adds old folk-flavours to the songs, works them out well like miniatures, sings them gently like waking-up songs. On “Through the Pine Forest” the guitar sounds very harp-like. On “Clemmin” the harmonium sounds like some sort of automatic instrument (due to recording of the clicking sounds of the playing, -played by Andrew Marshland-), while elsewhere the harmonium is delivering more colouring harmonic undertones, in combination with flute or other instruments. The arrangements are surely done with an ear to harmonies and are well produced and arranged. I wish the lyrics were included, because the songs, even in its relaxed sweet forms, pass very quickly like leaves of roses on the wind. The lyrics on “Clemmin” used an extract from the poem “The Shurat Weaver” by Samuel Laylock (1860) -from which the notes say that this was often sung to the traditional “Rory O’More”-. “To Sing with joy from a Sorrowing Heart” used words by French poet Christine De Pisan (14th-15th century). A beautiful and recommended EP, which I just hope will lead to a full release contract some time later.

Redtrack - Wait Around EP (2008)

Genre : Indie,Rock,British


1. Wait Around
2. Miss You Not
3. Stuck In This Town
4. Can't Be Arsed

"Essex indie bods REDTRACK delivery a fine slice jagged pop fodder, with a song of everyday beered up dancefloor lust. think sons and daughters meets the wannadies and you'll get the picture. boy/girl vocals with a spikey edge that'll pump the alcohol through your veins on a saturday night on sticky floored clubs up and down the country".

Bon Voyage - Lies (2008)

Genre : Indie,New-Wave,Dream-Pop

01 - Monster
02 - Don't Lie
03 - Birthday
04 - Best Friend
05 - Bad Friend
06 - Diary
07 - The Good Life
08 - Girlfriend In A Coma
09 - Bad Dream
10 - LTD
11 - Wake Up, Make Up

Bon Voyage is a side project of Starflyer 59 frontman Jason Martin, with his wife Julie Martin providing the vocals.
They have released three albums on Tooth & Nail Records and two 7” records on Velvet Blue Music.

Not that this frontwoman/wife/mother-of-two for veteran superduo Bon Voyage is anything frightening at first glance. And not that this latest, genius concoction by herself and her producer/songwriter/husband Jason is inherently macabre, morose, or pummeling, at least on the surface. In fact, at first glance, Julie (and Jason) are the sweetest, gentlest, kindest people you would ever want to meet, and their latest LP, at first listen, is just a hopelessly catchy collection of indie pop/dance tracks.

Which it makes it all the more chilling when, on the opening song of the new album , Julie sings, I wish I was a monster. I would hide under the stairs. I wish I was a nightmare. I'd give you a scare. It is as if Bon Voyage are hiding something a bit more than just solid songs underneath the surface...

Head Like A Kite - There is loud laughter everywhere (2008)

Genre : Indie,Rock,Electronic

1. Intro
2. We Were So Entangled
3. No Ordinary Caveman
4. Listen Young Stunners
5. Big FM Radio Hit
6. Everyday Should Be A Costume Party
7. Daydream Vacation
8. Letting It Go On The Ohio Turnpike
9. Six Bags Of Confetti
10. Keano's Couch
11. Before We Go To Bed
12. Ther Is Loud Laughter Everywhere
13. Roll Credits

Head Like A Kite is Dave Einmo, and his second full-length and first for Mush is an expert blend of electronic rock production and pure pop-song craft built on a bed of pillaged found sound from cities the band visited on their 2006 US tour. Contributors include members of The Long Winters, Smoosh, Radio 4, Crooked Fingers, and Preston School Of Industry. Each track is flavored with the perfect additions to the epic songwriting and big beat electronic production that is Head Like A Kite's forte.